Can You Change an Apple into an Orange?

My work-in-progress is moving along…slowly. I have put aside one day a week to work on it, which is all I can stand at this point, anyway!

I am having a tough time with the conversion of my non-fiction story into one of fiction. You’d think it would be easier to just create stuff out of whole cloth, but I think the chief difficulty is that I’m not there, yet.

Right now, I’m going through the manuscript and retyping the whole thing, as I format it for future ebook publishing, and add stuff in that I didn’t include before. The hard part is that as I make the changes from non-fiction to fiction, I think I’m trying to do too many things at once.

I’m hopeful that once I have the initial story formatted and ready for changes, I will find it easier to make those changes, and will enjoy both the writing process itself, and also the excitement of getting a book ready for publishing.

Right now, I wouldn’t want my own mother to read the thing, and she’ll offer praise for a correctly-spelled grocery list (thanks, Mom!).

With luck, I’ll be feeling happier about this whole process by the beginning of July. Hoping so, anyhow!

LJS

Leave a Reply

